[NEWS] “TVXQ vs JYJ, That Doesn’t Matter”… What Is K-Pop To European Fans?


“I’ve been a fan since they were active as TVXQ. It’s not important on whether I support TVXQ or JYJ. The fact that we know Korean singers and are addicted to their music, isn’t that what’s most important?

In front of the Tempodrom in Berlin, Germany on the 6th at 4p.m. The ticket box was crowded with fans, waiting to watch JYJ perform. The person who stuck out was Swedish fan Jenna(25, student) with her blonde hair and heart-shaped placard. She was the blonde TVXQ fan we had seen at the SM Paris concert.

“I’ve been a fan of TVXQ since 2006. I once traveled to Nagoya in Japan for TVXQ. I wanted to go to the concert in Spain but because of financial issues, I decided to go to just one concert. I recently went to the SM concert in Paris and I can’t wait to see JYJ perform. I don’t feel the need to separate and choose between TVXQ and JYJ. Of course, I do want to see them stand on stage together as five when the opportunity arises.

European fans with their blonde hair, blue eyes and white skin. How did they come to follow every move of Korean singers? It all began with an interest in Japanese culture. With the Hallyu Boom in Japan raging, they were naturally introduced to Korean singers. And thus, they became ‘K-pop fanatics’, regardless of nationality or country. The Japanese otaku culture became the root of K-pop’s growth in Europe.

Michaela(21) from Sweden said, “I naturally became interested in K-pop because I was into the Japanese culture,” and “I searched online and found a community. I found that there were a lot of people in Sweden who had come across K-pop as I had. I found friends there and we all came to watch JYJ perform.”

Josethina(23) and Matilda from Greece were the same. Matilda, who we met outside the stand that sold JYJ goods before the concert, said, “It all began with Japan’s culture. While listening to Japanese music and watching Japanese dramas, I came across Korean singers,” and “I’ve known JYJ since they were active as TVXQ in Japan. I like their handsome features, that make them look like they’ve popped out of a comic book, and their great performances.

Then who is the most popular member in Europe? Truth be told, Yoochun, Jaejoong and Junsu all had equal levels of popularity. But most were split in two different directions according to their taste. Fans who  preferred good looks that seemed to pop out of a comic book said that they were fans of Jaejoong. On the other hand, Europeans who focused more on vocal skills and melodious voices chose Junsu as their favorite member.

Ayaka(20, student), a Japanese student living in Europe, said, “I’ve been a fan of Junsu since they were active in Japan. I like all the members but Junsu’s my favorite,” and “He sings so well. I became a fan because of his live skills. I’m so happy to be able to actually hear him sing live in person.”

Janey(25) from France has been a fan of Jaejoong for a long time. Matilda said, “Jaejoong’s porcelain skin and big eyes are his charms. It feels like I’m staring at a character from a comic book when I look at him,” and “Even my friends, who don’t know that many Korean singers, say that Jaejoong’s handsome when they see his face.

According to the European fans, K-pop isn’t all the rage yet. It’s not a culture that has spread to every region and every class of society. They say that it’s still in the early stages and is just beginning. So the future actions of K-pop singers who have their sights set on Europe are more important than ever.This goes for JYJ’s Berlin concert as well. Tackling Europe in steps and sharing a connection with the people. This is why the future concerts of K-pop stars in Europe will be meaningful.


Source: [Dispatch]
Translated & Shared by: dongbangdata.net
re-up by: iXiahCassie

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

